Lurgy leads to knitting epiphany

Today I am off sick with the terrible lurgy. Well, actually I was off yesterday too. I was going to say the good thing about this is I have found time to finally encourage myself to pick up the blog again, but the truth I have mostly been feeling dreadful and actually declaring to myself that I would rather be healthy EVEN IF that meant I had to go to work. Yup.

Still, by this afternoon, I had drunk enough tea and lazed around enough that I felt able to actually manoeuvre my limbs. I’ve been working on my grey fluffy jumper since Christmas because after a fair amount of Christmas knitting I was desperate to knit something just for me. I had in mind a jumper that would look good but be comfy and cosy without being too thick and heavy – something I could grab and pull on in the house. I picked this one from a rather old Interweave Knits magazine, because L was scrutinising them, and the yarn is from a bunch of stuff I got at the John Lewis yarn sale 1 or maybe even 2 January’s ago…

Of course – as soon as I started I realised I still had to finish off Jon’s scarf (sorry Jon) and Debbie’s vintage cardigan (sorry Debbie). Luckily – I had a crafty plan! (No pun intended). I can take Jon’s scarf to work as ‘work knitting’ and Debbie’s cardigan would be picked up when the jumper was in between stages (blocking and so on). Ahem… yeah….

So – on to my point. I’ve blocked parts, knitted the cowl neck on, FINALLY managed to sew the sleeves together and into the armholes (not fun). So all that needed finishing was sewing in the ends. Boring, endless sewing in.

BUT! And this is the exciting part. I wasn’t happy with the way they looked when I sewed them in to actual knitting (rather than into seams). I never have been all that happy with my sewing in, but this time I did some internet research. And found my life changing news (honestly, it is. really.)

Right side showing sewing in ends

See how on the right there is a clear pucker? And just to left of it… ok, a slightly puckered BUT LESS SO part? Maybe you can’t. Well – it’s there. This is the effect of duplicate stitch sewing in ends.

Wrong Side showing sewing in of ends

I read about it in an old article on Knitty, Techniques with Theresa. It’s not really a good explanation, and I’m not sure my photo makes it any clearer, but it definitely works. My usual way was just to weave in and out the purl bumps on the wrong side. Instead, you need to follow the yarn through the stitches (see right hand side above). You use two rows of purl bumps instead, weaving exactly the same way as the yarn is going through the knitting on that row. Th trick is not to pull it any tighter than the knitting is to minimise how much it shows up on the other side. It’s also much stretchier than just weaving in because it mimics the knitting.

Phew. Well, it may be boring to a non-knitter, but it’s fucking AWESOME if you’re a similarly ignorant knitter like me!

In other news. Hoping to sort out my recipe pages soon so that I can post them directly there and make it more user-friendly, but that will have to wait until I have a brain. Bandit would like Siberia to stop sending us their weather now – he keeps going outside and realising the sun is just an evil lie and it’s actually freezing out there.

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting

2 responses to “Lurgy leads to knitting epiphany

  1. Sewing in my ends has always been a pain! When I first started I just [GASP!] tied a knot after I finished casting off. (It was just on corners of scarves though, because that was all I knew how to do.) Since then, I’ve learned the right way but still feel like I do them rather poorly.

    Thanks for sharing!

    • Hi Danielle – I hope it helps! It’s certainly making me feel a lot happier about sewing in ends… Defnitely the worst job in knitting (except sewing in sleeves!)
      HX

Leave a Reply

